Hydrogen, Fuel Catalyst and Alternative Fuel Forum
June 24, 2017, 12:05:39 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: To view this Forum in another language - copy the address for this forum and visit http://www.microsofttranslator.com/Default.aspx?ref=IE8Activity - The entire Forum and all postings will be in the language of your choice.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Quick Question or Comment Here  (Read 64448 times)
PDJ
Say NO to high fuel prices.....
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 586


There is a lot you can do with Water!


WWW
« on: July 27, 2009, 01:13:44 AM »

Have something to say or ask?

You can either search out the relevant section of the forum for detailed questions or comments, or just throw a quickie here  Smiley
« Last Edit: January 27, 2012, 12:15:51 PM by PDJ » Logged

The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity
stacka
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2009, 06:44:30 AM »

Quick Question,  Does anyone know if it is normal in HHo production to have a vapour appear from the bubbler or outlet pipe from the producer ?
Logged
JohnBaxter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 36



« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2009, 01:55:22 PM »

I think this will be from temperature of the water. Have you checked the working temperature?

Closer plates will allow you to use less electrolyte and this should give you less amps. This should keep the temp lower. A PWM will further reduce amps and temp in production.

I was reading somewhere that increased temp is OK just for the gas. One guy actually had the bubbler outlet pipe go past the exhaust manifold to heat the gas up before going into the air inlet.
Logged
PDJ
Say NO to high fuel prices.....
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 586


There is a lot you can do with Water!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2009, 07:49:30 PM »

I think the temp statement may only partially be possible. No matter what temp in the cell, it should cool when going through the bubbler..

Might be an idea to check on water level in the bubbler. See if it is rising. If this is so it could either be froth from cell getting into the bubbler, or if the cell is running too hot and starting to boil the steam will gather in the bubbler and when cool start to rise the water level.

If you have an agressive HHO flow into the bubbler the fast flow of HHO may be bubbling and there is vapour as a result. Try channeling the gas through several smaller tubes in different locations in the bubbler to decrease the amount of bubbles in one location.
Logged

The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity
stacka
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 25


« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2009, 04:08:58 PM »

Thanks for your comments guys,
I have since found out that some visable vapour is normal even at low temp. Was just wondering as i have cells now that are running at a high temp of 40 deg C even after running for 3 hrs.
Logged
JohnBaxter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 36



« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2009, 01:22:32 PM »

Now that I think about it you couldn't not get condensation, after all it is a 100% humidity environment. The simple fact that there are bubbles rising to the surface and popping at the top will make sure there is a heap of moisture in the air/HHO mix.

I can not see inside my bubbler but I can see the the water level tube on the side. There has always been a little moisture above the water level. I did not worry about it because I did not see any in the tube going to the air intake.

I still think temperature has a lot to do with it. The water level tube on the side of my kettle does not have any moisture above the water level when the water is cold. As soon as the kettle boils there is water vapour there.
Logged
PDJ
Say NO to high fuel prices.....
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 586


There is a lot you can do with Water!


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2009, 04:35:39 AM »

There has been repeated Spam events placed in this thread, this because there is no registration required.

I am going to try and stay on top of it, but if it becomes too frequent I may need to change this thread to "Registration Required"

With the huge amount of email and web site spamming that is happening on the www, it is a shame that a few are inconveniencing the many.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2009, 04:46:07 AM by PDJ » Logged

The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity
D.clash
Guest
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2009, 03:51:44 AM »

maybe just delete the quick question box if it cant be fixed

I mean how much time do you really save from not posting your question here directly?
Logged
PDJ
Say NO to high fuel prices.....
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 586


There is a lot you can do with Water!


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2009, 12:33:21 PM »

how much time do you really save from not posting your question here directly?

Good point, but I have set this up for two reasons....
  • We now have over 13,000 (edit - now 25,000) pages viewed monthly and the majority by un-registered Guests. This is here for "if" these guests wish to ask a question without having to give their email address out to register. With the amount of Spam getting around, I too would be reluctant to give out my address if I was uncertain of the site.
  • Speaking of Spam..... The www.reduceyourfuelbill.com.au main web site had an email section that had been found by the "Spam Spiders" - The email section has now been removed and a link placed to this section of the forum.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2010, 11:34:15 PM by PDJ » Logged

The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity
Uneddyirrindy
Guest
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2009, 06:47:26 PM »

This message has been completely edited by the Forum Administrator.

Thanks Uneddyirrindy..... Your inconsiderate actions have made it so I disable this board "No Registration" access. Your repeated attempts to list Porn Spam really is not appreciated. From now on people will need to register to post a question.

To add a little insult to your attempts to Spam the world with your filth, I have great pleasure in replacing your inappropriate web links with one of my own. I think I will even amend your message.........

Hi everyone...... Uneddyirrindy here......... Like to invite you to visit this really great Disneyland Web Site..... Good wholesome fun for the whole family..... http://disneyland.disney.go.com/disneyland/en_US/home/home?name=HomePage



 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
(Revenge can be sweet)
« Last Edit: November 04, 2009, 02:22:54 PM by PDJ » Logged
lizard56
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2010, 12:50:20 AM »

Hello and thanks in advance for your help. I have build a dry cell and it is producing a good amount of hydrogen using KOH in the mixture and running at 13 amps.
My problem is that instead of circulating the mixture out the top of the cell, into the reservior and returning back into the bottom of the cell, it also pushes some fluid/hydrogen out of the bottom hose of the cell which flows up into the bottom of the reservoir, filling it to overflowing, leaving the cell with almost no fluid in it.
Because of this I have not been able to run it for very long. I have raised the reservior and the base of it is now 15cm above the top of the cell. This made no difference. Turn the power off and the water drains back into the cell. I have had the bubbler outlet just venting into the air to make sure there is no pressure build up.
So, any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I have been reading plenty of info on the subject but have not come across this problem anywhere.  Thanking you, Lindsay.
Logged
PDJ
Say NO to high fuel prices.....
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 586


There is a lot you can do with Water!


WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2010, 04:59:49 AM »

My problem is that instead of circulating the mixture out the top of the cell, into the reservior and returning back into the bottom of the cell, it also pushes some fluid/hydrogen out of the bottom hose of the cell which flows up into the bottom of the reservoir, filling it to overflowing, leaving the cell with almost no fluid in it.

Interesting - I don't think it is gravity (though it helps having the reservoir higher), it is increased pressure from the act of making the HHO. When the plates start producing HHO there is a pressure build up within the Dry Cell. This will let the pressure try and escape through any possible outlet (top and botom)

I am no expert, but you might like to do two things.
  • Increase the diameter of the pipe going from the top of your cell
  • Decrease the diameter of the pipe refilling the cell at the bottom

Whatever pressure is established will find it easier to go through the larger pipe at the top.

I did a bit of Googling for acid resistant one way valves but only found expensive pressure valves.

There are HHO One way valves made for the gas but I was not able to find any for the electrolyte.

My reservoir has always been higher with a small pipe to the cell and i have never had your problem.

Try changing the pipe diameters - let us know how you go.

PS - If you have a pic of your setup it could help  Smiley
« Last Edit: May 05, 2010, 05:09:47 AM by PDJ » Logged

The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity
Trent
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2010, 11:29:26 PM »

Hi all. I ended up making a unit similr to the Smack using his plans but I used plates instead and changing the strap design. Have done a heap of reading from this forum and I found it incrediby useful thanks.

My hats off to you guys there is so much stuff here.

Some of the suppliers web sites I have found have small forums to help their customers and help them sell more stuff. You guys simply share everything. Great. Whatever inspird you to set it up?
Logged
PDJ
Say NO to high fuel prices.....
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 586


There is a lot you can do with Water!


WWW
« Reply #13 on: September 27, 2010, 01:01:30 PM »

Whatever inspird you to set it up?

Hi Trent - Thanks for the compliment.

When I first started my HHO journey I fell for one of those "Free HHO Plans" web sites that ended up costing me $49. The plans were ancient and very confusing so I decided to find out as much as I could about building one.

It was difficult to find the info I wanted, so when I did find it I decided to put it all here for others to share.

BTW - I really do not like the oil companies making it hard for families to be able to survive with the constant fuel price increases.

Another reason is the blatent waste of money by the people who own the oil wells.

Check out this car owned by an oil shiek ..... it is actually GOLD !



And if you are interested to see where he lives, check out the series of pics below. This is actually a house and NOT a hotel.








Now I am not against business people enjoying the fruits of their success, but when nearly everyone in the world struggles to simply fill their tank up I think it is a little inconsiderate for the owner of this oil mansion to proudly post his home on the internet.

When I grow up I want to be an Oil Shiek

Regards
Paul
« Last Edit: March 28, 2011, 05:20:46 AM by PDJ » Logged

The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity
d40navara
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2011, 03:51:46 AM »

Hi to all my name is Daniel i have been hho curiouse for some time now(2years) but have never taken the leap of faith mostly due to time and money.
My questions do any hho addicts/users live on or near the central coast NSW Australia?
Are you able to meet me somewhere to show me your setup?
 you never know i may even be able to help you as I'm reasonably handy and fairly savvy with electricals.
I would love to see an actual working example, i do believe it to work but have been dismayed as the car i would like to run a hho set up is an 07 Nissan v6 which has 2 air fuel ratio sensors and 2 oxygen sensors.

I currently have a Mercedes 300d that i have done over 160,000ks on straight vegetable oil the old gal will die of cancer before her ticker stops.
Logged
gasser
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #15 on: April 03, 2011, 10:51:35 PM »

Can anyone tell me where I can buy 316L stainless in 4'' squares?  Everything i have found locally in Reno you have to buy the whole sheet ($500). Kind of expensive for playing and testing. Thanks
Logged
PDJ
Say NO to high fuel prices.....
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 586


There is a lot you can do with Water!


WWW
« Reply #16 on: April 03, 2011, 11:54:53 PM »

do any hho addicts/users live on or near the central coast NSW Australia?
Are you able to meet me somewhere to show me your setup?

Hey Daniel - Welcome to the Forum
I hope someone answers your question but you might find that the visitors in this Forum are from all over the world.
If you have  a spare hour or ten, have a sticky beak at Youtube.
If you have not already seen it, have a look at the Video Tutorial I have in this Forum at http://reduceyourfuelbill.com.au/forum/index.php?topic=62.0
I know how you might feel, I was sceptical at first myself

Paul
Logged

The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity
PDJ
Say NO to high fuel prices.....
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 586


There is a lot you can do with Water!


WWW
« Reply #17 on: April 03, 2011, 11:58:38 PM »

Can anyone tell me where I can buy 316L stainless in 4'' squares?

Greetings...
There are many HHO e-shops on the internet and many of these offer parts.
Try Googling them and I will do the same.

Regards
Paul
Logged

The sole meaning of life is to serve humanity
shane73
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 19


« Reply #18 on: April 30, 2011, 08:23:00 PM »

Hello everyone. I luv this site. Got a ? has anyone used a Apexi AFC on they're truck or car, instead of an efie? I have been having trouble with my setup that i put in my 4.3 s10. The efie is not keeping up with the computer in the truck.
Logged
myoldyourgold
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1168



« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2011, 10:10:03 PM »

Quote
Hello everyone. I luv this site. Got a ? has anyone used a Apexi AFC on they're truck or car, instead of an efie? I have been having trouble with my setup that i put in my 4.3 s10. The efie is not keeping up with the computer in the truck.

Yes one will work on your S10.  I believe the Neo will.  It is much more complex to tune and hook up than an EFIE and will require some skill to get it right.  Tuners make a living using these but usually on street rods.  A new one is expensive.  Used ones if you can find one run for $250 US on up.  I would suggest you stick with an EFIE/MAP and master that first. 
Logged

"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb deciding what to have for dinner. Liberty is a well-armed lamb."

ONE Liter per minute per 10 amps which just isn't possible Ha Ha
shane73
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 19


« Reply #20 on: May 01, 2011, 01:00:38 PM »

Sounds good. The efie i have on my truck is making my check engine light come on and the code is insufficient switches bank 1 and 2. I turned my efie down and it still comes on, but i was thinking maybe its that i have about 6ft of cat 6 wire for use on phone lines going from o2 sensors to the efie and back to the computer wire by the sensor. If i hook it up at the computer do u think it will keep up with the sensor or computer? I cant even use the cell i built because i cant see my fuel gage go down as im driving down the road. And on one side of the efie the mvolts dont change much at all but the other side or o2 sensor i can get them to go up to about 1.14. i have my volts set at around .588 with the cell on, that is what it is when i have the cell off.

I was thinking if i could find someone to hook up and tune the apexi afc then it would be better on gas. I dont know im new at all of this. I am just one of those people that can make what they see. If u know what i mean. I seen a dry cell on youtube and looked for some parts and put one together. Now that i found this site im learning some of the ends and outs of it all.

thank u all for the help

Shane
Logged
myoldyourgold
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1168



« Reply #21 on: May 01, 2011, 01:22:57 PM »

Shane,  unfortunately I am the wrong one to be answering any of this.  I wish one of the other guys who are familiar with EFIE's would help out here.  I am only going on what others have said and based on that I deduce, that  you have a problem with either the EFIE or how it is connected.  Are you absolutely sure it is hooked up right.  Sorry I am not any help at all in this matter. 
Logged

"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb deciding what to have for dinner. Liberty is a well-armed lamb."

ONE Liter per minute per 10 amps which just isn't possible Ha Ha
shane73
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 19


« Reply #22 on: May 01, 2011, 01:48:45 PM »

Yes im sure. But the site i got it from said something about switching the wires around to lower the volts. Like the way i have it now the wire from the sensor goes in to the in side and the computer wire is hooked up to the out side, they say to switch them around to lower the volts if needed but i dont know y i would need that.
Logged
unoassassin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 159


Yummy for my tummy


« Reply #23 on: May 14, 2011, 08:47:12 AM »

Shane the reason for changing the wire is there are two types of O2's , if I have this right it is a simple answer , old O2's work on a low to high or high to low scale for input and the new ones work the opposite so first you need to know what you have and I may be able to help but I need your year of vic. and type and I will try and find out if you haven't got this figured out . Gary
Logged

I got lost looking For Lee , If you find him tell him to wait , I will be along after I finish my burger .
HydroSysSteve
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 36



« Reply #24 on: May 15, 2011, 08:06:54 AM »

Also, what brand/type of EFIE do you have?
Logged

I found Lee!!!  But I forget where he was, or where he said he was going.  Getting old's a bitch!
Please consider Donating a small amount through the links at the top and bottom of each page. This helps to pay for the Web Hosting so as to offer you the information in this Forum. RYFB was set up as a Community Worldwide Service to help reduce our dependency on Damaging Fossil Fuels and we receive NO funding from any other source other than the occasional Donation.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Up
  Send this topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Please consider Donating a small amount through the links at the top and bottom of each page. This helps to pay for the Web Hosting so as to offer you the information in this Forum. RYFB was set up as a Community Worldwide Service to help reduce our dependency on Damaging Fossil Fuels and we receive NO funding from any other source other than the occasional Donation.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.046 seconds with 21 queries.